Extension de fichier EPUB

Icône de fichier EPUB
Open EBook Format
  • Developer
    IDPF
  • Popularité
    3.7 (26 votes)

Qu'est-ce que le fichier EPUB?

Les fichiers avec l'extension EPUB contiennent des publications électroniques - Electronic PUBlication , compressé avec la méthode de compression ZIP, stocké dans un format ouvert basé sur XML. Dans le fichier, il y a aussi des métadonnées sur une publication donnée. Il permet également de rechercher dans le texte des informations spécifiques.

Ce format peut inclure:

  • Contenu d'un livre, offrant la possibilité de changer la taille de la police et de l'afficher sans division en pages.
  • Graphique raster ou vectoriel.
  • Droits d'auteur - DRM ,
  • Feuilles de style CSS.

Histoire du format EPUB

Les fichiers EPUB ont remplacé le format précédent Open eBook, introduit par l’International Digital Publishing Forum - IDPF, en 2007. Actuellement, avec les formats MOBI et PDF, EPUB est le format le plus utilisé pour la distribution de livres électroniques ou d’autres publications appareils de lecture, même s’ils peuvent également être ouverts sur des appareils mobiles et des ordinateurs équipés du logiciel approprié. Dans la version EPUB 3.1, les données audio et vidéo peuvent également être stockées et prend en charge l'interactivité.

Programmes prenant en charge l'extension de fichier EPUB

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un index des logiciels pouvant être utilisés pour ouvrir les fichiers EPUB divisés en catégories 7 en fonction de la plate-forme système prise en charge. Les fichiers avec le suffixe EPUB peuvent être copiés sur n’importe quel appareil mobile ou plate-forme système, mais il peut ne pas être possible de les ouvrir correctement sur le système cible.

Comment ouvrir un fichier EPUB?

Les problèmes d'accès à EPUB peuvent être dus à diverses raisons. Heureusement, la plupart des problèmes courants avec les fichiers EPUB peuvent être résolus sans connaissances informatiques approfondies, et plus important encore, en quelques minutes à peine. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de consignes qui vous aideront à identifier et à résoudre les problèmes liés aux fichiers.

Étape 1. Installez le logiciel Sony Reader

La cause principale et la plus fréquente empêchant les utilisateurs d'ouvrir les fichiers EPUB est qu'aucun programme capable de gérer les fichiers EPUB n'est installé sur le système de l'utilisateur. La solution la plus évidente consiste à télécharger et installer Sony Reader ou un des programmes listés: Calibre, OverDrive Media Console Phone, Stanzetta. Vous trouverez ci-dessus une liste complète des programmes prenant en charge les fichiers EPUB, classés selon les plates-formes système pour lesquelles ils sont disponibles. Si vous souhaitez télécharger le programme d'installation de Sony Reader de la manière la plus sécurisée, nous vous suggérons de visiter le site Web et de le télécharger à partir de leurs dépôts officiels.

Étape 2. Mettez à jour Sony Reader vers la dernière version.

Vous ne pouvez toujours pas accéder aux fichiers EPUB bien que Sony Reader soit installé sur votre système? Assurez-vous que le logiciel est à jour. Parfois, les développeurs de logiciels introduisent de nouveaux formats qui prennent déjà en charge les nouvelles versions de leurs applications. La raison pour laquelle Sony Reader ne peut pas gérer les fichiers avec EPUB peut être que le logiciel est obsolète. Tous les formats de fichiers gérés correctement par les versions précédentes d'un programme donné devraient également pouvoir être ouverts avec Sony Reader.

Étape 3. Attribuez Sony Reader à fichiers EPUB

Si la dernière version de Sony Reader est installée et que le problème persiste, sélectionnez-le comme programme par défaut à utiliser pour gérer EPUB sur votre appareil. La méthode est assez simple et varie peu d'un système d'exploitation à l'autre.

Changer l'application par défaut dans Windows

  • Choisissez l'entrée Ouvrir avec dans le menu Fichier accessible en cliquant avec le bouton droit de la souris sur le fichier EPUB
  • Ensuite, sélectionnez l'option Choisissez une autre application , puis utilisez Autres applications pour ouvrir la liste des applications disponibles.
  • Pour finaliser le processus, sélectionnez Rechercher une autre application entrée PC et, à l'aide de l'explorateur de fichiers, sélectionnez le dossier d'installation Sony Reader. Confirmez en cochant Toujours utiliser ce programme pour ouvrir la boîte de fichiers EPUB , puis en cliquant sur le bouton OK .

Changer l'application par défaut dans Mac OS

  • En cliquant avec le bouton droit de la souris sur le fichier EPUB sélectionné, ouvrez le menu Fichier et choisissez Informations
  • Passez à la section Ouvrir avec . S'il est fermé, cliquez sur le titre pour accéder aux options disponibles.
  • Sélectionnez le logiciel approprié et enregistrez vos paramètres en cliquant sur Modifier tout
  • Une fenêtre de message devrait apparaître pour vous informer que cette modification sera appliquée à tous les fichiers avec l'extension EPUB. En cliquant sur Continuez vous confirmez votre sélection.

Étape 4. Recherchez les erreurs dans le fichier EPUB

Vous avez suivi de près les étapes énumérées aux points 1 à 3, mais le problème est toujours présent? Vous devriez vérifier si le fichier est un fichier EPUB approprié. L'impossibilité d'accéder au fichier peut être liée à divers problèmes.

1. Vérifiez que le EPUB en question n'est pas infecté par un virus informatique

Si le fichier est infecté, le logiciel malveillant qui réside dans le fichier EPUB empêche toute tentative de l'ouvrir. Il est conseillé d'analyser le système le plus tôt possible pour rechercher les virus et les logiciels malveillants ou d'utiliser un scanner antivirus en ligne. Si le fichier EPUB est effectivement infecté, suivez les instructions ci-dessous.

2. Vérifiez que la structure du fichier EPUB est intacte

Avez-vous reçu le fichier EPUB en question d'une personne différente? Demandez-lui de l'envoyer une fois de plus. Le fichier a peut-être été copié par erreur et les données ont perdu leur intégrité, ce qui empêche d'accéder au fichier. Si le fichier EPUB n'a été que partiellement téléchargé depuis Internet, essayez de le télécharger à nouveau.

3. Vérifiez si votre compte dispose de droits d'administrateur

Certains fichiers nécessitent des droits d'accès élevés pour les ouvrir. Basculez vers un compte disposant des privilèges requis et essayez de rouvrir le fichier Open EBook Format.

4. Vérifiez si votre système peut gérer Sony Reader

Si le système est soumis à de lourdes charges, il ne sera peut-être pas en mesure de gérer le programme que vous utilisez pour ouvrir les fichiers avec l'extension EPUB. Dans ce cas, fermez les autres applications.

5. Assurez-vous que les derniers pilotes, mises à jour du système et correctifs sont installés.

Le système, les pilotes et les programmes régulièrement mis à jour sécurisent votre ordinateur. Cela peut également éviter des problèmes avec les fichiers Open EBook Format. Il est possible que l'une des mises à jour de système ou de pilote disponibles résolve les problèmes liés aux fichiers EPUB affectant les anciennes versions d'un logiciel donné.

Voulez-vous aider?

Si vous disposez des renseignements complémentaires concernant le fichier EPUB nous serons reconnaissants de votre partage de ce savoir avec les utilisateurs de notre service. Utilisez le formulaire qui se trouve ici et envoyez-nous les renseignements sur le fichier EPUB.

Top extensions de fichier
Afficher plus
Extension de fichier du jour
snb icon

SNB

Shanda Bambook EBook

Les extensions de fichier SNB sont utilisées par les fichiers de livre électronique pour le lecteur de livre électronique Shanda Bambook. Les fi...

EPUB File Extension

EPUB file icon
Open EBook Format
  • Developer
    IDPF
  • Popularity
    3.7 (26 votes)

What is EPUB file?

Files with the EPUB extension contain electronic publications - Electronic PUBlication, compressed with ZIP compression method, stored in an open format based on XML. Within the file, there is also some metadata on a given publication. It also enables to search through the text for specifics.

Such format may include:

  • Content of a book, providing possibility to change the font size, and the option to display it with no division into pages.
  • Raster or vector graphic.
  • Copyrights - DRM,
  • CSS stylesheets.

History of EPUB format

EPUB files have substituted the previous Open eBook format, introduced by the International Digital Publishing Forum – IDPF, in the year 2007. Currently, along with the MOBI and PDF formats, EPUB is the most popular format used for distributing electronic books or other publications for reading devices, although they can be opened also on mobile devices and computers equipped with proper software. In the EPUB 3.1 version, also audio and video data can be stored and it supports interactivity.

Programs which support EPUB file extension

Below you will find an index of software programs that can be used to open EPUB files divided into 7 categories according to system platform supported. Files with EPUB suffix can be copied to any mobile device or system platform, but it may not be possible to open them properly on target system.

How to open file with EPUB extension?

Problems with accessing EPUB may be due to various reasons. Fortunately, most common problems with EPUB files can be solved without in-depth IT knowledge, and most importantly, in a matter of minutes. The following is a list of guidelines that will help you identify and solve file-related problems.

Step 1. Install Sony Reader software

The main and most frequent cause precluding users form opening EPUB files is that no program that can handle EPUB files is installed on user’s system. The most obvious solution is to download and install Sony Reader or one to the listed programs: Calibre, OverDrive Media Console Phone, Stanzetta. Above you will find a complete listing of programs that support EPUB files, classified according to system platforms for which they are available. If you want to download Sony Reader installer in the most secured manner, we suggest you visit website and download from their official repositories.

Step 2. Update Sony Reader to the latest version

You still cannot access EPUB files although Sony Reader is installed on your system? Make sure that the software is up to date. Sometimes software developers introduce new formats in place of that already supports along with newer versions of their applications. The reason that Sony Reader cannot handle files with EPUB may be that the software is outdated. All of the file formats that were handled just fine by the previous versions of given program should be also possible to open using Sony Reader.

Step 3. Assign Sony Reader to EPUB files

If you have the latest version of Sony Reader installed and the problem persists, select it as the default program to be used to manage EPUB on your device. The method is quite simple and varies little across operating systems.

Change the default application in Windows

  • Choose the Open with entry from the file menu accessed by right-mouse clicking on the EPUB file
  • Next, select the Choose another app option and then using More apps open the list of available applications
  • To finalize the process, select Look for another app on this PC entry and using the file explorer select the Sony Reader installation folder. Confirm by checking Always use this app to open EPUB files box and clicking OK button.

Change the default application in Mac OS

  • By clicking right mouse button on the selected EPUB file open the file menu and choose Information
  • Proceed to the Open with section. If its closed, click the title to access available options
  • Select the appropriate software and save your settings by clicking Change all
  • A message window should appear informing that This change will be applied to all files with EPUB extension. By clicking Continue you confirm your selection.

Step 4. Check the EPUB for errors

You closely followed the steps listed in points 1-3, but the problem is still present? You should check whether the file is a proper EPUB file. Being unable to access the file can be related to various issues.

1. Verify that the EPUB in question is not infected with a computer virus

If the file is infected, the malware that resides in the EPUB file hinders attempts to open it. It is advised to scan the system for viruses and malware as soon as possible or use an online antivirus scanner. If the EPUB file is indeed infected follow the instructions below.

2. Verify that the EPUB file’s structure is intact

Did you receive the EPUB file in question from a different person? Ask him/her to send it one more time. The file might have been copied erroneously and the data lost integrity, which precludes from accessing the file. If the EPUB file has been downloaded from the internet only partially, try to redownload it.

3. Verify whether your account has administrative rights

Some files require elevated access rights to open them. Switch to an account that has required privileges and try opening the Open EBook Format file again.

4. Check whether your system can handle Sony Reader

If the system is under havy load, it may not be able to handle the program that you use to open files with EPUB extension. In this case close the other applications.

5. Ensure that you have the latest drivers and system updates and patches installed

Regularly updated system, drivers, and programs keep your computer secure. This may also prevent problems with Open EBook Format files. It is possible that one of the available system or driver updates may solve the problems with EPUB files affecting older versions of given software.

Do you want to help?

If you have additional information about the EPUB file, we will be grateful if you share it with our users. To do this, use the form here and send us your information on EPUB file.

Top File Extensions
Show more
File Extension of the day
wve icon

WVE

DivX Movie Conversion Component Format

WVE is a proprietary file format which was developed by DivX for purpose of digital video codecs also developed by the DivX Corporation. WVE files ...