Icône de fichier GPG

Extension de fichier GPG

GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring
  • Developer
    Free Software Foundation
  • Category
  • Popularité
    3.2 (22 votes)

Qu'est-ce que le fichier GPG?

Le format de fichier GPG est un fichier utilisé créé avec GNU Privacy Guard (GnuPG), un outil de cryptage de fichier. Le fichier GPG contient les clés de sécurité publiques et les jetons cryptés.

Clés de sécurité GPG

Les clés de sécurité stockées dans les fichiers GPG utilisent la norme OpenPGP définie par RFC2440, la même norme utilisée par le format PGP (Pretty Good Privacy). Les clés de sécurité GPG sont utilisées pour déchiffrer des fichiers chiffrés avec GNU Privacy Guard.

Programmes prenant en charge l'extension de fichier GPG

Les fichiers avec le suffixe GPG peuvent être copiés sur n’importe quel appareil mobile ou plate-forme système, mais il peut ne pas être possible de les ouvrir correctement sur le système cible.

Logiciels desservant le fichier GPG

Windows Windows
MAC OS MAC OS
Linux Linux

Updated: 11/11/2022

Comment ouvrir un fichier GPG?

Il peut y avoir plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles vous rencontrez des problèmes lors de l’ouverture des fichiers GPG sur un système donné. Heureusement, la plupart des problèmes courants avec les fichiers GPG peuvent être résolus sans connaissances informatiques approfondies, et plus important encore, en quelques minutes à peine. La liste ci-dessous vous guidera tout au long du processus de résolution du problème rencontré.

Étape 1. Téléchargez et installez GnuPG

Install software to open GPG file La raison la plus courante de tels problèmes est le manque d'applications appropriées prenant en charge les fichiers GPG installés sur le système. La solution est simple, il suffit de télécharger et d'installer GnuPG. La liste complète des programmes regroupés par système d’exploitation se trouve ci-dessus. La méthode la plus sûre de téléchargement de GnuPG installé consiste à se rendre sur le site Web du développeur () et à télécharger le logiciel à l'aide des liens fournis.

Étape 2. Vérifiez que vous avez la dernière version de GnuPG

Update software that support file extension GPGSi GnuPG est déjà installé sur vos systèmes et que les fichiers GPG ne sont toujours pas ouverts correctement, vérifiez si vous disposez de la version la plus récente du logiciel. Les développeurs de logiciels peuvent implémenter la prise en charge de formats de fichiers plus modernes dans les versions mises à jour de leurs produits. La raison pour laquelle GnuPG ne peut pas gérer les fichiers avec GPG peut être que le logiciel est obsolète. Tous les formats de fichiers gérés correctement par les versions précédentes d'un programme donné devraient également pouvoir être ouverts avec GnuPG.

Étape 3. Associez les fichiers GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring à GnuPG

Si la dernière version de GnuPG est installée et que le problème persiste, sélectionnez-le comme programme par défaut à utiliser pour gérer GPG sur votre appareil. Le processus d’association des formats de fichier à une application par défaut peut différer selon les plates-formes, mais la procédure de base est très similaire.

Associate software with GPG file on Windows

Sélection de l'application de premier choix dans Windows

  • Choisissez l'entrée Ouvrir avec dans le menu Fichier accessible en cliquant avec le bouton droit de la souris sur le fichier GPG
  • Sélectionnez Choisissez une autre applicationPlus d'applications
  • Pour finaliser le processus, sélectionnez Rechercher une autre application entrée PC et, à l'aide de l'explorateur de fichiers, sélectionnez le dossier d'installation GnuPG. Confirmez en cochant Toujours utiliser ce programme pour ouvrir la boîte de fichiers GPG , puis en cliquant sur le bouton OK .
Associate software with GPG file on Mac

Sélection de l'application de premier choix dans Mac OS

  • Cliquez avec le bouton droit sur le fichier GPG et sélectionnez Information
  • Rechercher l'option Ouvrir avec - cliquez sur le titre s'il est masqué.
  • Dans la liste, choisissez le programme approprié et confirmez en cliquant sur Changer pour tout...
  • Une fenêtre de message devrait apparaître pour vous informer que cette modification sera appliquée à tous les fichiers avec l'extension GPG. En cliquant sur Continuez vous confirmez votre sélection.

Étape 4. Assurez-vous que le fichier GPG est complet et exempt d’erreurs.

Vous avez suivi de près les étapes énumérées aux points 1 à 3, mais le problème est toujours présent? Vous devriez vérifier si le fichier est un fichier GPG approprié. Des problèmes d’ouverture du fichier peuvent survenir pour diverses raisons.

Check GPG file for viruses
1. Le GPG est peut-être infecté par des logiciels malveillants. Assurez-vous de le scanner à l'aide d'un antivirus.

Si le GPG est effectivement infecté, il est possible que le malware l'empêche de s'ouvrir. Il est conseillé d'analyser le système le plus tôt possible pour rechercher les virus et les logiciels malveillants ou d'utiliser un scanner antivirus en ligne. Si le fichier GPG est effectivement infecté, suivez les instructions ci-dessous.

2. Vérifiez si le fichier est corrompu ou endommagé

Avez-vous reçu le fichier GPG en question d'une personne différente? Demandez-lui de l'envoyer une fois de plus. Le fichier a peut-être été copié par erreur et les données ont perdu leur intégrité, ce qui empêche d'accéder au fichier. Si le fichier GPG n'a été que partiellement téléchargé depuis Internet, essayez de le télécharger à nouveau.

3. Assurez-vous d'avoir les droits d'accès appropriés

Il est possible que le fichier en question ne soit accessible qu'aux utilisateurs disposant de privilèges système suffisants. Déconnectez-vous de votre compte actuel et connectez-vous à un compte disposant de privilèges d'accès suffisants. Ouvrez ensuite le fichier GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring.

4. Vérifiez si votre système peut gérer GnuPG

Si le système est soumis à de lourdes charges, il ne sera peut-être pas en mesure de gérer le programme que vous utilisez pour ouvrir les fichiers avec l'extension GPG. Dans ce cas, fermez les autres applications.

5. Vérifiez si vous disposez des dernières mises à jour du système d'exploitation et des pilotes.

Un système à jour et les pilotes pas seulement pour rendre votre ordinateur plus sécurisé, mais peuvent également résoudre les problèmes avec le fichier GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring. Il est possible que l'une des mises à jour de système ou de pilote disponibles résolve les problèmes liés aux fichiers GPG affectant les anciennes versions d'un logiciel donné.

Voulez-vous aider?

Si vous disposez des renseignements complémentaires concernant le fichier GPG nous serons reconnaissants de votre partage de ce savoir avec les utilisateurs de notre service. Utilisez le formulaire qui se trouve ici et envoyez-nous les renseignements sur le fichier GPG.

Top extensions de fichier
Afficher plus
Extension de fichier du jour
 icon

Last updated

GPG File Extension

GPG file icon
GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring
  • Developer
    Free Software Foundation
  • Category
  • Popularity
    3.1 (8 votes)

What is GPG file?

GPG file format is used files created with GNU Privacy Guard (GnuPG), a file encryption tool. GPG filecontains public security keys and encrypted tokens.

GPG security keys

Security keys stored in GPG files use OpenPGP standard defined by RFC2440, the same standard the PGP (Pretty Good Privacy) format uses. GPG security keys are used for decrypting files encrypted with GNU Privacy Guard.

Programs which support GPG file extension

The list that follows enumerates programs compatible with GPG files, divided into 3 categories based on operating system on which they are available. Files with GPG suffix can be copied to any mobile device or system platform, but it may not be possible to open them properly on target system.

Programs that support GPG file

Windows Windows
MAC OS MAC OS
Linux Linux

Updated: 02/20/2020

How to open file with GPG extension?

There can be multiple causes why you have problems with opening GPG files on given system. Fortunately, most common problems with GPG files can be solved without in-depth IT knowledge, and most importantly, in a matter of minutes. The list below will guide you through the process of addressing the encountered problem.

Step 1. Download and install GnuPG

The most common reason for such problems is the lack of proper applications that supports GPG files installed on the system. The solution is straightforward, just download and install GnuPG. The full list of programs grouped by operating systems can be found above. The safest method of downloading GnuPG installed is by going to developer’s website () and downloading the software using provided links.

Step 2. Verify the you have the latest version of GnuPG

If you already have GnuPG installed on your systems and GPG files are still not opened properly, check if you have the latest version of the software. Software developers may implement support for more modern file formats in updated versions of their products. The reason that GnuPG cannot handle files with GPG may be that the software is outdated. All of the file formats that were handled just fine by the previous versions of given program should be also possible to open using GnuPG.

Step 3. Associate GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring files with GnuPG

If you have the latest version of GnuPG installed and the problem persists, select it as the default program to be used to manage GPG on your device. The process of associating file formats with default application may differ in details depending on platform, but the basic procedure is very similar.

Selecting the first-choice application in Windows

  • Choose the Open with entry from the file menu accessed by right-mouse clicking on the GPG file
  • Select Choose another app → More apps
  • To finalize the process, select Look for another app on this PC entry and using the file explorer select the GnuPG installation folder. Confirm by checking Always use this app to open GPG files box and clicking OK button.

Selecting the first-choice application in Mac OS

  • Right-click the GPG file and select Information
  • Find the Open with option – click the title if its hidden
  • From the list choose the appropriate program and confirm by clicking Change for all....
  • A message window should appear informing that This change will be applied to all files with GPG extension. By clicking Continue you confirm your selection.

Step 4. Ensure that the GPG file is complete and free of errors

You closely followed the steps listed in points 1-3, but the problem is still present? You should check whether the file is a proper GPG file. Problems with opening the file may arise due to various reasons.

1. The GPG may be infected with malware – make sure to scan it with an antivirus tool.

If the GPG is indeed infected, it is possible that the malware is blocking it from opening. It is advised to scan the system for viruses and malware as soon as possible or use an online antivirus scanner. If the GPG file is indeed infected follow the instructions below.

2. Check whether the file is corrupted or damaged

Did you receive the GPG file in question from a different person? Ask him/her to send it one more time. The file might have been copied erroneously and the data lost integrity, which precludes from accessing the file. If the GPG file has been downloaded from the internet only partially, try to redownload it.

3. Ensure that you have appropriate access rights

There is a possibility that the file in question can only be accessed by users with sufficient system privileges. Log out of your current account and log in to an account with sufficient access privileges. Then open the GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring file.

4. Check whether your system can handle GnuPG

If the system is under havy load, it may not be able to handle the program that you use to open files with GPG extension. In this case close the other applications.

5. Check if you have the latest updates to the operating system and drivers

Up-to-date system and drivers not only makes your computer more secure, but also may solve problems with GNU Privacy Guard Public Keyring file. It is possible that one of the available system or driver updates may solve the problems with GPG files affecting older versions of given software.

Do you want to help?

If you have additional information about the GPG file, we will be grateful if you share it with our users. To do this, use the form here and send us your information on GPG file.

Top File Extensions
Show more
File Extension of the day
pkpass icon

PKPASS

Passbook Pass Format

Files with the PKPASS extension contain different types of data compressed with ZIP compression method, which include daily used tickets, passes, c...