Icône de fichier AFM

Extension de fichier AFM

Adobe Font Metrics Format

Qu'est-ce que le fichier AFM?

Le nom de format complet des fichiers qui utilisent l’extension AFM est Adobe Font Metrics Format. Les fichiers avec l'extension AFM peuvent être utilisés par les programmes distribués pour la plate-forme Mac OS, Windows. Le fichier AFM appartient à la catégorie Fichiers de polices tout comme 109 autres extensions de nom de fichier répertoriées dans notre base de données. Le programme le plus populaire pour le traitement des fichiers AFM est Referenced by programs that use system fonts, mais les utilisateurs peuvent choisir 3 programmes différents prenant en charge ce format de fichier.

Programmes prenant en charge l'extension de fichier AFM

La liste qui suit énumère les programmes compatibles avec les fichiers AFM, divisés en catégories 2 en fonction du système d'exploitation sur lequel ils sont disponibles. Les fichiers AFM peuvent être rencontrés sur toutes les plates-formes du système, y compris les appareils mobiles. Cependant, rien ne garantit que chacun d'eux les prendra en charge correctement.

Logiciels desservant le fichier AFM

Comment ouvrir un fichier AFM?

Les problèmes d'accès à AFM peuvent être dus à diverses raisons. Du côté positif, les problèmes les plus fréquemment rencontrés concernant Adobe Font Metrics Format fichiers ne sont pas complexes. Dans la plupart des cas, ils peuvent être traités rapidement et efficacement sans l'assistance d'un spécialiste. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de consignes qui vous aideront à identifier et à résoudre les problèmes liés aux fichiers.

Étape 1. Obtenez le Referenced by programs that use system fonts

Install software to open AFM file La cause principale et la plus fréquente empêchant les utilisateurs d'ouvrir les fichiers AFM est qu'aucun programme capable de gérer les fichiers AFM n'est installé sur le système de l'utilisateur. Celui-ci est facile. Sélectionnez Referenced by programs that use system fonts ou l'un des programmes recommandés (par exemple, Adobe Creative Suite, Adobe Creative Cloud), téléchargez-le à partir de la source appropriée et installez-le sur votre système. Vous trouverez ci-dessus une liste complète des programmes prenant en charge les fichiers AFM, classés selon les plates-formes système pour lesquelles ils sont disponibles. Si vous souhaitez télécharger le programme d'installation de Referenced by programs that use system fonts de la manière la plus sécurisée, nous vous suggérons de visiter le site Web et de le télécharger à partir de leurs dépôts officiels.

Étape 2. Mettez à jour Referenced by programs that use system fonts vers la dernière version.

Update software that support file extension AFMVous ne pouvez toujours pas accéder aux fichiers AFM bien que Referenced by programs that use system fonts soit installé sur votre système? Assurez-vous que le logiciel est à jour. Parfois, les développeurs de logiciels introduisent de nouveaux formats qui prennent déjà en charge les nouvelles versions de leurs applications. Cela peut expliquer en partie pourquoi les fichiers AFM ne sont pas compatibles avec Referenced by programs that use system fonts. La version la plus récente de Referenced by programs that use system fonts est compatible avec les versions antérieures et peut gérer les formats de fichiers pris en charge par les versions antérieures du logiciel.

Étape 3. Attribuez Referenced by programs that use system fonts à fichiers AFM

Après avoir installé Referenced by programs that use system fonts (la version la plus récente), assurez-vous qu’elle est définie comme application par défaut pour ouvrir les fichiers AFM. Le processus d’association des formats de fichier à une application par défaut peut différer selon les plates-formes, mais la procédure de base est très similaire.

Associate software with AFM file on Windows

La procédure pour changer le programme par défaut dans Windows

  • Cliquez avec le bouton droit sur le fichier AFM et choisissez Ouvrir avec option.
  • Cliquez sur Choisissez une autre application , puis sélectionnez l'option Plus d'applications.
  • La dernière étape consiste à sélectionner l'option Rechercher une autre application, indiquez le chemin du répertoire dans le dossier où Referenced by programs that use system fonts est installé. Il ne vous reste plus qu'à confirmer votre choix en sélectionnant Toujours utiliser ce programme pour ouvrir les fichiers AFM, puis en cliquant sur OK .
Associate software with AFM file on Mac

La procédure pour changer le programme par défaut dans Mac OS

  • En cliquant avec le bouton droit de la souris sur le fichier AFM sélectionné, ouvrez le menu Fichier et choisissez Informations
  • Rechercher l'option Ouvrir avec - cliquez sur le titre s'il est masqué.
  • Sélectionnez le logiciel approprié et enregistrez vos paramètres en cliquant sur Modifier tout
  • Une fenêtre de message devrait apparaître pour vous informer que cette modification sera appliquée à tous les fichiers avec l'extension AFM. En cliquant sur Continuez vous confirmez votre sélection.

Étape 4. Vérifiez que le AFM n'est pas défectueux

Si le problème persiste après les étapes 1 à 3, vérifiez si le fichier AFM est valide. Il est probable que le fichier est corrompu et donc inaccessible.

Check AFM file for viruses
1. Vérifiez que le AFM en question n'est pas infecté par un virus informatique

Si le AFM est effectivement infecté, il est possible que le malware l'empêche de s'ouvrir. Analysez le fichier AFM ainsi que votre ordinateur contre les logiciels malveillants ou les virus. Si le scanner a détecté que le fichier AFM est dangereux, procédez comme indiqué par le programme antivirus pour neutraliser la menace.

2. Assurez-vous que le fichier avec l'extension AFM est complet et sans erreur.

Si le fichier AFM vous a été envoyé par quelqu'un d'autre, demandez à cette personne de vous renvoyer le fichier. Pendant le processus de copie du fichier, des erreurs peuvent survenir rendant le fichier incomplet ou corrompu. Cela pourrait être la source de problèmes rencontrés avec le fichier. Lors du téléchargement du fichier avec l'extension AFM à partir d'Internet, une erreur peut survenir, entraînant un fichier incomplet. Essayez de télécharger le fichier à nouveau.

3. Assurez-vous d'avoir les droits d'accès appropriés

Il est possible que le fichier en question ne soit accessible qu'aux utilisateurs disposant de privilèges système suffisants. Basculez vers un compte disposant des privilèges requis et essayez de rouvrir le fichier Adobe Font Metrics Format.

4. Vérifiez que votre appareil remplit les conditions pour pouvoir ouvrir Referenced by programs that use system fonts

Si le système est soumis à de lourdes charges, il ne sera peut-être pas en mesure de gérer le programme que vous utilisez pour ouvrir les fichiers avec l'extension AFM. Dans ce cas, fermez les autres applications.

5. Assurez-vous que les derniers pilotes, mises à jour du système et correctifs sont installés.

Un système à jour et les pilotes pas seulement pour rendre votre ordinateur plus sécurisé, mais peuvent également résoudre les problèmes avec le fichier Adobe Font Metrics Format. Il est possible que l'une des mises à jour de système ou de pilote disponibles résolve les problèmes liés aux fichiers AFM affectant les anciennes versions d'un logiciel donné.

Voulez-vous aider?

Si vous disposez des renseignements complémentaires concernant le fichier AFM nous serons reconnaissants de votre partage de ce savoir avec les utilisateurs de notre service. Utilisez le formulaire qui se trouve ici et envoyez-nous les renseignements sur le fichier AFM.

Top extensions de fichier
Afficher plus
Extension de fichier du jour
cvr icon

CVR

Microsoft Crash Report Format

Les fichiers CVR sont créés automatiquement par certaines applications Microsoft en cas d'erreur ou de blocage de l'application. Que cont...

Last updated

AFM File Extension

AFM file icon
Adobe Font Metrics Format

What is AFM file?

Full format name of files that use AFM extension is Adobe Font Metrics Format. Files with AFM extension may be used by programs distributed for Mac OS, Windows platform. AFM file belongs to the Font Files category just like 104 other filename extensions listed in our database. The most popular program for handling AFM files is Referenced by programs that use system fonts, but users can choose among 3 different programs that support this file format.

Programs which support AFM file extension

The list that follows enumerates programs compatible with AFM files, divided into 2 categories based on operating system on which they are available. AFM files can be encountered on all system platforms, including mobile, yet there is no guarantee each will properly support such files.

Programs that support AFM file

How to open file with AFM extension?

Problems with accessing AFM may be due to various reasons. On the bright side, the most encountered issues pertaining to Adobe Font Metrics Format files aren’t complex. In most cases they can be addressed swiftly and effectively without assistance from a specialist. The following is a list of guidelines that will help you identify and solve file-related problems.

Step 1. Get the Referenced by programs that use system fonts

The main and most frequent cause precluding users form opening AFM files is that no program that can handle AFM files is installed on user’s system. This one is an easy one. Select Referenced by programs that use system fonts or one of the recommended programs (for example, Adobe Creative Suite, Adobe Creative Cloud) and download it from appropriate source and install on your system. Above you will find a complete listing of programs that support AFM files, classified according to system platforms for which they are available. If you want to download Referenced by programs that use system fonts installer in the most secured manner, we suggest you visit website and download from their official repositories.

Step 2. Update Referenced by programs that use system fonts to the latest version

You still cannot access AFM files although Referenced by programs that use system fonts is installed on your system? Make sure that the software is up to date. Sometimes software developers introduce new formats in place of that already supports along with newer versions of their applications. This can be one of the causes why AFM files are not compatible with Referenced by programs that use system fonts. The most recent version of Referenced by programs that use system fonts is backward compatible and can handle file formats supported by older versions of the software.

Step 3. Assign Referenced by programs that use system fonts to AFM files

After installing Referenced by programs that use system fonts (the most recent version) make sure that it is set as the default application to open AFM files. The process of associating file formats with default application may differ in details depending on platform, but the basic procedure is very similar.

The procedure to change the default program in Windows

  • Right-click the AFM file and choose Open with option
  • Click Choose another app and then select More apps option
  • The last step is to select Look for another app on this PC option supply the directory path to the folder where Referenced by programs that use system fonts is installed. Now all that is left is to confirm your choice by selecting Always use this app to open AFM files and clicking OK.

The procedure to change the default program in Mac OS

  • By clicking right mouse button on the selected AFM file open the file menu and choose Information
  • Find the Open with option – click the title if its hidden
  • Select the appropriate software and save your settings by clicking Change all
  • A message window should appear informing that This change will be applied to all files with AFM extension. By clicking Continue you confirm your selection.

Step 4. Verify that the AFM is not faulty

Should the problem still occur after following steps 1-3, check if the AFM file is valid. It is probable that the file is corrupted and thus cannot be accessed.

1. Verify that the AFM in question is not infected with a computer virus

If the AFM is indeed infected, it is possible that the malware is blocking it from opening. Scan the AFM file as well as your computer for malware or viruses. If the scanner detected that the AFM file is unsafe, proceed as instructed by the antivirus program to neutralize the threat.

2. Ensure the file with AFM extension is complete and error-free

If the AFM file was sent to you by someone else, ask this person to resend the file to you. During the copy process of the file errors may occurred rendering the file incomplete or corrupted. This could be the source of encountered problems with the file. When downloading the file with AFM extension from the internet an error may occurred resulting in incomplete file. Try downloading the file again.

3. Ensure that you have appropriate access rights

There is a possibility that the file in question can only be accessed by users with sufficient system privileges. Switch to an account that has required privileges and try opening the Adobe Font Metrics Format file again.

4. Verify that your device fulfills the requirements to be able to open Referenced by programs that use system fonts

If the system is under havy load, it may not be able to handle the program that you use to open files with AFM extension. In this case close the other applications.

5. Ensure that you have the latest drivers and system updates and patches installed

Up-to-date system and drivers not only makes your computer more secure, but also may solve problems with Adobe Font Metrics Format file. It is possible that one of the available system or driver updates may solve the problems with AFM files affecting older versions of given software.

Do you want to help?

If you have additional information about the AFM file, we will be grateful if you share it with our users. To do this, use the form here and send us your information on AFM file.

Top File Extensions
Show more
File Extension of the day
dwl icon

DWL

TurboCAD Drawing Lock Format

DWL files are created with the TurboCad – software for 2D and 3D designing, it functions as a blocking file. This means, that the file is gen...