Extension de fichier CER

Icône de fichier CER
Internet Security Certificate

Qu'est-ce que le fichier CER?

Le fichier CER est un fichier de sécurité Internet associé à des sites Web. Le but principal de ces fichiers est de fournir à l'utilisateur l'authentification et l'identification du site Web lui-même, ainsi que la vérification de la sécurité du site Web. Ces fichiers CER sont créés par une autorité de certification de sécurité qui est généralement une tierce partie.

Ces certificats indiquent également le niveau de sécurité d'un site Web spécifique. Chaque personne visitant le site Web reçoit un certificat et le navigateur Web le vérifie. Si le certificat est expiré ou n'existe pas, un avertissement est affiché à propos des menaces possibles.

Programmes prenant en charge l'extension de fichier CER

La liste qui suit énumère les programmes compatibles avec les fichiers CER, divisés en catégories 3 en fonction du système d'exploitation sur lequel ils sont disponibles. Les fichiers avec le suffixe CER peuvent être copiés sur n’importe quel appareil mobile ou plate-forme système, mais il peut ne pas être possible de les ouvrir correctement sur le système cible.

Logiciels desservant le fichier CER

Comment ouvrir un fichier CER?

Les problèmes d'accès à CER peuvent être dus à diverses raisons. Du côté positif, les problèmes les plus fréquemment rencontrés concernant Internet Security Certificate fichiers ne sont pas complexes. Dans la plupart des cas, ils peuvent être traités rapidement et efficacement sans l'assistance d'un spécialiste. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste de consignes qui vous aideront à identifier et à résoudre les problèmes liés aux fichiers.

Étape 1. Téléchargez et installez Microsoft Internet Explorer

La cause principale et la plus fréquente empêchant les utilisateurs d'ouvrir les fichiers CER est qu'aucun programme capable de gérer les fichiers CER n'est installé sur le système de l'utilisateur. Celui-ci est facile. Sélectionnez Microsoft Internet Explorer ou l'un des programmes recommandés (par exemple, Adobe Acrobat, Adobe Reader, Mozilla Firefox), téléchargez-le à partir de la source appropriée et installez-le sur votre système. La liste complète des programmes regroupés par système d’exploitation se trouve ci-dessus. La méthode la plus sûre de téléchargement de Microsoft Internet Explorer installé consiste à se rendre sur le site Web du développeur (Microsoft Corporation) et à télécharger le logiciel à l'aide des liens fournis.

Étape 2. Mettez à jour Microsoft Internet Explorer vers la dernière version.

Si les problèmes liés à l'ouverture des fichiers CER se produisent encore, même après l'installation de Microsoft Internet Explorer, il est possible que vous disposiez d'une version obsolète du logiciel. Vérifiez sur le site Web du développeur si une version plus récente de Microsoft Internet Explorer est disponible. Parfois, les développeurs de logiciels introduisent de nouveaux formats qui prennent déjà en charge les nouvelles versions de leurs applications. Cela peut expliquer en partie pourquoi les fichiers CER ne sont pas compatibles avec Microsoft Internet Explorer. Tous les formats de fichiers gérés correctement par les versions précédentes d'un programme donné devraient également pouvoir être ouverts avec Microsoft Internet Explorer.

Étape 3. Attribuez Microsoft Internet Explorer à fichiers CER

Si le problème n'a pas été résolu à l'étape précédente, vous devez associer les fichiers CER à la dernière version de Microsoft Internet Explorer que vous avez installée sur votre appareil. La prochaine étape ne devrait poser aucun problème. La procédure est simple et largement indépendante du système

La procédure pour changer le programme par défaut dans Windows

  • Cliquez avec le bouton droit sur le fichier CER et choisissez Ouvrir avec option.
  • Sélectionnez Choisissez une autre applicationPlus d'applications
  • La dernière étape consiste à sélectionner l'option Rechercher une autre application, indiquez le chemin du répertoire dans le dossier où Microsoft Internet Explorer est installé. Il ne vous reste plus qu'à confirmer votre choix en sélectionnant Toujours utiliser ce programme pour ouvrir les fichiers CER, puis en cliquant sur OK .

La procédure pour changer le programme par défaut dans Mac OS

  • Dans le menu déroulant, accessible en cliquant sur le fichier avec l'extension CER, sélectionnez Information
  • Ouvrez la section Ouvrir avec en cliquant sur son nom
  • Sélectionnez le logiciel approprié et enregistrez vos paramètres en cliquant sur Modifier tout
  • Si vous avez suivi les étapes précédentes, un message devrait apparaître: Cette modification sera appliquée à tous les fichiers avec l'extension CER. Ensuite, cliquez sur le bouton Continuez pour finaliser le processus.

Étape 4. Recherchez les erreurs dans le fichier CER

Vous avez suivi de près les étapes énumérées aux points 1 à 3, mais le problème est toujours présent? Vous devriez vérifier si le fichier est un fichier CER approprié. L'impossibilité d'accéder au fichier peut être liée à divers problèmes.

1. Le CER est peut-être infecté par des logiciels malveillants. Assurez-vous de le scanner à l'aide d'un antivirus.

S'il devait arriver que le CER soit infecté par un virus, c'est peut-être pour cette raison que vous ne pourrez y accéder. Analysez immédiatement le fichier à l’aide d’un antivirus ou de l’ensemble du système pour vous assurer que tout le système est sécurisé. Si le fichier CER est effectivement infecté, suivez les instructions ci-dessous.

2. Assurez-vous que le fichier avec l'extension CER est complet et sans erreur.

Si vous avez obtenu le fichier CER problématique d'un tiers, demandez-lui de vous en fournir une autre copie. Pendant le processus de copie du fichier, des erreurs peuvent survenir rendant le fichier incomplet ou corrompu. Cela pourrait être la source de problèmes rencontrés avec le fichier. Si le fichier CER n'a été que partiellement téléchargé depuis Internet, essayez de le télécharger à nouveau.

3. Vérifiez si l'utilisateur avec lequel vous êtes connecté dispose des privilèges d'administrateur.

Il est possible que le fichier en question ne soit accessible qu'aux utilisateurs disposant de privilèges système suffisants. Déconnectez-vous de votre compte actuel et connectez-vous à un compte disposant de privilèges d'accès suffisants. Ouvrez ensuite le fichier Internet Security Certificate.

4. Vérifiez si votre système peut gérer Microsoft Internet Explorer

Les systèmes d'exploitation peuvent noter suffisamment de ressources libres pour exécuter l'application prenant en charge les fichiers CER. Fermez tous les programmes en cours et essayez d’ouvrir le fichier CER.

5. Vérifiez que votre système d'exploitation et vos pilotes sont à jour

Le système, les pilotes et les programmes régulièrement mis à jour sécurisent votre ordinateur. Cela peut également éviter des problèmes avec les fichiers Internet Security Certificate. Il se peut que les fichiers CER fonctionnent correctement avec un logiciel mis à jour qui corrige certains bogues du système.

Voulez-vous aider?

Si vous disposez des renseignements complémentaires concernant le fichier CER nous serons reconnaissants de votre partage de ce savoir avec les utilisateurs de notre service. Utilisez le formulaire qui se trouve ici et envoyez-nous les renseignements sur le fichier CER.

Top extensions de fichier
Afficher plus
Extension de fichier du jour
aia icon

AIA

Adobe Illustrator Action Format

Le fichier avec l'extension .AIA contient une liste d'opérations , c'est-à-dire une liste d'actions à exécuter dans l'appli...

CER File Extension

CER file icon
Internet Security Certificate
  • Developer
    N/A
  • Popularity
    2.7 (8 votes)

What is CER file?

CER file is an internet security file associated with websites. The main purpose of such files is to provide the user with authentication and identification of the website itself along with the verification of the security of the website. These CER files are created by a security certificate authority which is generally a third party.

These certificates also tell about the security level of a specific website. Any person visiting the website is given certificate and the web browser checks that certificate. In case the certificate is expired or does not exist a warning is shown to the about the possible threats.

Programs which support CER file extension

The list that follows enumerates programs compatible with CER files, divided into 3 categories based on operating system on which they are available. Files with CER suffix can be copied to any mobile device or system platform, but it may not be possible to open them properly on target system.

How to open file with CER extension?

Problems with accessing CER may be due to various reasons. On the bright side, the most encountered issues pertaining to Internet Security Certificate files aren’t complex. In most cases they can be addressed swiftly and effectively without assistance from a specialist. The following is a list of guidelines that will help you identify and solve file-related problems.

Step 1. Download and install Microsoft Internet Explorer

The main and most frequent cause precluding users form opening CER files is that no program that can handle CER files is installed on user’s system. This one is an easy one. Select Microsoft Internet Explorer or one of the recommended programs (for example, Adobe Acrobat, Adobe Reader, Mozilla Firefox) and download it from appropriate source and install on your system. The full list of programs grouped by operating systems can be found above. The safest method of downloading Microsoft Internet Explorer installed is by going to developer’s website (Microsoft Corporation) and downloading the software using provided links.

Step 2. Update Microsoft Internet Explorer to the latest version

If the problems with opening CER files still occur even after installing Microsoft Internet Explorer, it is possible that you have an outdated version of the software. Check the developer’s website whether a newer version of Microsoft Internet Explorer is available. Sometimes software developers introduce new formats in place of that already supports along with newer versions of their applications. This can be one of the causes why CER files are not compatible with Microsoft Internet Explorer. All of the file formats that were handled just fine by the previous versions of given program should be also possible to open using Microsoft Internet Explorer.

Step 3. Assign Microsoft Internet Explorer to CER files

If the issue has not been solved in the previous step, you should associate CER files with latest version of Microsoft Internet Explorer you have installed on your device. The next step should pose no problems. The procedure is straightforward and largely system-independent

The procedure to change the default program in Windows

  • Right-click the CER file and choose Open with option
  • Select Choose another app → More apps
  • The last step is to select Look for another app on this PC option supply the directory path to the folder where Microsoft Internet Explorer is installed. Now all that is left is to confirm your choice by selecting Always use this app to open CER files and clicking OK.

The procedure to change the default program in Mac OS

  • From the drop-down menu, accessed by clicking the file with CER extension, select Information
  • Open the Open with section by clicking its name
  • Select the appropriate software and save your settings by clicking Change all
  • If you followed the previous steps a message should appear: This change will be applied to all files with CER extension. Next, click the Continue button to finalize the process.

Step 4. Check the CER for errors

You closely followed the steps listed in points 1-3, but the problem is still present? You should check whether the file is a proper CER file. Being unable to access the file can be related to various issues.

1. The CER may be infected with malware – make sure to scan it with an antivirus tool.

Should it happed that the CER is infected with a virus, this may be that cause that prevents you from accessing it. Immediately scan the file using an antivirus tool or scan the whole system to ensure the whole system is safe. If the CER file is indeed infected follow the instructions below.

2. Ensure the file with CER extension is complete and error-free

If you obtained the problematic CER file from a third party, ask them to supply you with another copy. During the copy process of the file errors may occurred rendering the file incomplete or corrupted. This could be the source of encountered problems with the file. If the CER file has been downloaded from the internet only partially, try to redownload it.

3. Check if the user that you are logged as has administrative privileges.

There is a possibility that the file in question can only be accessed by users with sufficient system privileges. Log out of your current account and log in to an account with sufficient access privileges. Then open the Internet Security Certificate file.

4. Check whether your system can handle Microsoft Internet Explorer

The operating systems may note enough free resources to run the application that support CER files. Close all running programs and try opening the CER file.

5. Verify that your operating system and drivers are up to date

Regularly updated system, drivers, and programs keep your computer secure. This may also prevent problems with Internet Security Certificate files. It may be the case that the CER files work properly with updated software that addresses some system bugs.

Do you want to help?

If you have additional information about the CER file, we will be grateful if you share it with our users. To do this, use the form here and send us your information on CER file.

Top File Extensions
Show more
File Extension of the day
jtp icon

JTP

Windows Journal Template

JTP is a document template file format native to Window Journal. Windows Journal was a software tool for creating notes and drawings, which support...